Physics vacation work in Australia (or the southern hemisphere)

In summary, the person is looking for physics labs or places to do research in Australia during the summer holidays. They are currently in their 2nd year of a B Eng / B Adv. Science degree and prefer pure physics over engineering. They have had no luck finding options aside from CSIRO and ANSTO, and are asking for recommendations. Some options include ANU, University of Sydney, University of Adelaide, and Macquarie University.
dr_nic
Hi,

I was wondering if anyone could point me to physics labs or really any place to do with physics (not engineering) that take on students in the summer holidays. I am currently in my 2nd year of a B Eng / B Adv. Science degree in Australia. I've looked up places to do with engineering but my passion lies with physics and so (even though I may make less) I would love to find somewhere I could do pure physics.

If you aren't sure about places that do this sort of thing could you just reply with physics labs that are in Australia that I can contact as I have had no success in finding any (aside from CSIRO and ANSTO).

Thanks in advance

Physics news on Phys.org
Last edited by a moderator:
for any help you can provide!

Hello,

I am a physicist and I understand your passion for pure physics. Australia has many great opportunities for students interested in physics during the summer holidays. Some potential places to look for vacation work in physics include universities, government research organizations such as CSIRO and ANSTO, and private research companies. Additionally, you may want to reach out to individual physics professors or researchers to inquire about any potential summer research opportunities they may have available.