Physics PhD: industry jobs abroad

In summary: National labs are great places to work - they offer good pay and excellent benefits. However, they are not always the best place to work if you want to move on to a more senior position. National labs are geared towards doing research and development - they are not always interested in hiring people who will be taking over the jobs of the researchers who are leaving.Maybe management consultancy would be a better fit? Yes, that may be a good fit. Management consultancy is a growing field, and it's one that is likely to keep growing in the future.Finding a job in management consultancy will not be easy, but it's not impossible. You may have to look online or contact a professional placement agency.Finding a job
Calchas
Hi guys, I did have a search through the forum but I didn't find anything quite like my question. Perhaps someone might offer me some advice.

I'm a UK physics PhD student, with about 18 months before I graduate (in principle). At this point I am beginning to get a little fed up of academia and I think that this sort of life is not for me. I have no firm plans at the moment, but suffice it to say that I'm considering careers in oil and gas, other industry, or perhaps even something as left-field as management consultancy.

In any event, my priority is to move abroad for a few years, preferably to the United States.

The main issue I think here is visa issues: I am a British citizen and (so far as I can deduce) currently ineligible for US citizenship.

I am aware that some employers will sponsor a foreigner. Unfortunately the only places I know who will do this for someone in my rather junior position are the US national labs, which is less than ideal.

Does anyone have any experience with making this sort of a move?

Thanks for reading.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org