Physics Newbie - Newtons 1st Law - Frames of References & Observers

In summary, the conversation discusses Newton's Laws of Motion and the concept of reference frames. The first law states that objects in motion tend to stay in motion unless acted upon by an external force. A reference frame is where an observer carries out measurements, and all inertial frames are equally valid. The conversation also discusses the relationship between inertial and non-inertial frames of reference and how they can be used to describe different observations.
SQLMAN
Hi All
Let me start by saying that I am new to this forum and I am new to physics. I've always had an interest in getting an entry level understanding of Newton's Laws of Motion. I also apologize if these questions are a bit stupid or overly covered in other posts.

I watched a Yale video lecture on Newton's Laws and as expected, I'm a little stumped.

1. Inertia has to do with an object's resistance to stopping and it's desire to continue moving forward at the same speed, correct?

2. What does a reference frame actually mean? In an example of a car accelerating, is the car the frame of reference? Does it matter whether or not the car is accelerating or just coasting?

3. If I am watching the car go past me, I am the observer?

4. Am I correct in that an object obeying the 1st law is an inertial frame of reference and an object not obeying it is a noninertial frame of reference?

5. When a car moves after being at rest, the dice hanging from the rear-view mirror swings backwards, this is noninertial, correct? Is the dice it's own frame of reference? Does the same apply when the car takes a bend and the dice swings to the side?

I'm struggling to understand the relationship between inertial/noninertial references and observers.

Any help would be great

Please remember that I am a noob to all of this.

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org