Physics major need career advice

In summary, the conversation discusses potential career paths for someone with a physics degree, specifically in the field of engineering. The speaker mentions their own experience as an engineer in a failure analysis company and suggests other options such as research in nanotechnology or working in a manufacturing company. They also mention the use of various equipment in their lab for failure analysis, such as SEM-EDX, AFM, FT-IR, and SPM.
Maurice7510
Hi, I'm going into my second year of the physics program and I was thinking about trying out for med school afterwards. In case that doesn't pan out, what are some other jobs that require a physics degree? If I don't make it into med school, I'll probably go for a masters and probably Ph.D, but I don't know what I could do with that.
Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
hi... i am also a graduate in physics program. i am now an engineer in failure analysis company. we are carrying out failure analysis through microscopy ways. we use SEM-EDX in our lab (lab service)... we also have many other equipmnts such as atomic force microscope(AFM), Fourier transform infra red (FT-IR), scanning probe microscopy(SPM) and etc..though, i think u can either involve in research of nanotech or failure analysis. ...o u can start career in engineering, such as material engineering, manufactring cmpany...

Related to Physics major need career advice

1. What career options are available for someone with a degree in Physics?

Physics majors have a wide range of career options available to them. Some common career paths include research and development, data analysis, engineering, teaching, and consulting. Many physics majors also go on to work in fields such as finance, law, and medicine.

2. Is it necessary to pursue a graduate degree after obtaining a Physics major?