Physics Basics: Nucleus, Nuclide, Neutron, Electron & Proton

In summary, Aaron is a student in grade 11 who is struggling with understanding physics concepts. He has questions about nuclei, nuclides, neutrons, electrons, and protons. A nucleus is a dense collection of protons and neutrons in the center of an atom, while nuclide is the plural form of nucleus. A neutron is an electrically neutral particle, while an electron is a light particle with a negative charge. A proton is a positively charged particle in the nucleus of an atom. Nuclides are specific atomic species characterized by the number of protons and neutrons in their nucleus. Isotopes are different versions of the same element with varying numbers of neutrons.
nobodyuknow
Hey all,

I've just started grade 11 and started studying Physics for the first time, so I have very little knowledge in Physics and find it very difficult to understand things that are given to me during class and reading them off the internet.

Some of my main questions that I have trouble with at the moment is:

What is a Nucleus?
What is a Nuclide?
[STRIKE]What is a Nuclei[/STRIKE]? SOLVED: Plural of Nucleus.

I think Nuclei is plural for Nuclide - but I'm not sure.

What is a Neutron and what charge does it hold?
What is a Electron and what charge(s) does it hold?
What is a Proton and what charge does it hold?

I know these are very simple questions, but I find the information on the internet is too complex and have a lot of information that I find difficult to comprehend.

It'd be great if you could give me about a sentence or two for each question and briefly explain their functions.

Thank you SO MUCH!
~ Aaron

EDIT:

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
nobodyuknow said:
What is a Nucleus?

A heavy, densely packed collection of protons and neutrons in the middle of an atom. It has positive charge and attracts the electrons around it.

What is a Nuclei?

Plural form of nucleus.

What is a Nuclide?

This is kind of complicated: