Physical interpretation of operators in QM?

In summary, Dirac's operator formalism was developed to allow for the uncertainty principle in quantum mechanics, while Heisenberg's matrix formalism is a way to represent observables without commutativity. The physical motivation for operators is that they allow for the wave-like behavior of matter.
jang
hi, I am a novice to quantum mechanics and get a lot of troubles with operators. I cannot explain why:

- why QM uses operators for observables such as position, momentum, energy, ..ect, but classical physics does not?
- what are physical interpretations of operators?
- why are operators needed to quantize observables?

can anyone please help giving me some "physical" explanations of operators in QM? Thanks a lot.

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF, Jang.

Well, there are two equivalent formalisms here. One is the operator formalism introduced by Dirac and the other is the matrix formalism that Heisenberg invented. The two are equivalent, and once you get deeper into QM you'll be expected to be know both.

Operators and matrices in themselves have no physical meaning; they're just mathematical objects. But the reason why we use them has a very important physical reason: The uncertainty principle. In quantum mechanics, unlike classical mechanics, you can't necessarily determine two different properties at the same time. For instance, position and momentum. So if you determine a particle's position and then its momentum, you will not get the same result as if you first determined the momentum and then position.