Photovoltaics and time near a black hole (as a key story element)

In summary, a physics student and science fiction writer shares an idea for a novel or short story involving a future where humans have advanced technology and can manipulate gravity. A professor explains the concept of time dilation near a black hole and a naive student suggests using photovoltaics to collect energy. However, a more experienced professor points out the practical challenges involved. Another professor becomes inspired and plans to go near the event horizon to collect a large amount of energy, but faces technological challenges. The original poster seeks input on the physics and technology involved, as well as potential plot ideas. The conversation also touches on the possibility of hand-waving some of the scientific details and using alternative methods for propulsion and energy collection.
Daniel Sellers
I'm a physics student and science fiction writer, and I've never been to this section of PF before! But I have an idea I think is cool for a novel or short story and I'd like some input on the physics involved. As I'm not overly worried about this idea being stolen I'm going to provide a short plot setup:

The setting is the distant future where human technology has progressed to near god like capabilities including, if we wanted to, the ability to go 'close' the event horizon and maintain a large enough radial acceleration to stay in one place (not close enough to become spaghettified).

In a physics lecture, a professor explains that in such a gravitational field you would experience time dilation. One problem you would have to contend with is that, depending on how close to the event horizon you were sitting, you might have thousands or even millions of years worth of stellar radiation bearing down on you at once.