Photonic density of state in matter

In summary: I just wanted to share my confusion about the photonic density of states in the context of complex refractive index.In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of the photonic density of states in the context of complex refractive index. It is mentioned that in non-absorbing or non-dissipative materials, the local photonic density of states is proportional to the cubic of the refractive index, but the imaginary part of the refractive index does not affect the result. However, in dissipative media, the emitted power is larger even when the real part of the refractive index is the same, indicating that the local photonic density of state is also affected by the imaginary part. The individual is seeking a theoretical explanation for this
Jeffrey Yang
I'm a beginner in quantum optics. I always become confusing when the material's refractive index is complex. This time is about the photonic density of states.

We know that if the material is not absorbing or dissipative, meaning the refractive index is a real number, the local photonic density of states is proportional to the cubic of the refractive index. It seems that even when the refractive index is complex, its imaginary part will not affect the result because the imaginary part will not affect the amplitude and have nothing to do will the wave-vector as well as the dispersion relation.