PhD research in particle physics and cosmology - Any advice ?

In summary, the speaker is a student in particle physics and cosmology, who is finishing their master's degree in June. They are currently searching for PhD studentships in Europe or the US, but have received discouraging responses. They are currently interning in Paris and are enthusiastic about pursuing a career in theoretical physics. They are considering other options, such as doing an advanced master's degree or pursuing a PhD in theoretical particle physics. They are open to working in either cosmology or particle physics, but prefer theoretical work over experimental work.
Anne-Sylvie
Hello everyone,

I am a student in particle physics and cosmology in some Belgian university. I'll finish my master degree in June of this year.

I am searching for PhD studentships in Europa or US, but it is very difficult to get a place somewhere. I applied to some universities, I'm still waiting for answers, I already received (bad) ones. It is quite discouraging but I keep self confidence (at least I try ;)) because I'm sure I can do interesting things in theoretical physics.

I am having a four months internship in Paris in order to write my master thesis. This open my eyes on many aspects of the daily life of a physicist, and I'm more enthusiastic than ever to dive in this universe.

But I really doubt I would be able to get a studentship for fall 2012. What would you advice me ?
- Searching for another less interesting PhD ? (I really think it's a bad options but maybe you have some other argument).
- Doing an advanced master in some university in order to begin a PhD in this university ?

Are advanced masters difficult to enter in ?
What are your advice to optimize my chances to get a PhD ?

A piece of information :