Phase Space, Velocity, Integrals

In summary: Expert Summarizer In summary, the conversation is about a forum user seeking guidance on understanding the mathematics behind velocity-phase space integrals in Maxwellian distributions. The expert summarizer offers advice on reviewing basic concepts in classical mechanics and thermodynamics, as well as recommending textbooks, online resources, and reaching out to classmates for support.
luis mtz
Hi, this is my first post. I did a search and in this sub-forum I found the most related threads for what I'm looking for.

I need some guidance or where or how to learn all this mathematics for velocity-phase space integrals that appear in Maxwellian distributions.

I'm an Engineer in Electronics and Communications, taking an advanced course on Kinetic Theory and I'm having this mathematical problems as I don't have much background on Physics.

I have already taken courses in vector calculus, differential equations and integration methods (basic)

Please Advise.

Thanks a lot.

Physics news on Phys.org

Hello,

First of all, welcome to the forum! I am glad that you have found some related threads in this sub-forum. It sounds like you are facing some challenges with understanding the mathematics behind velocity-phase space integrals in Maxwellian distributions. As a scientist who has studied and worked with these concepts, I would be happy to offer some guidance and resources for you to learn more about this topic.

As an Engineer in Electronics and Communications, you already have a solid foundation in mathematics with courses in vector calculus, differential equations, and integration methods. This is a great starting point for understanding velocity-phase space integrals. However, since you mentioned that you don't have much background in Physics, it may be helpful to first review some basic concepts in classical mechanics and thermodynamics, as these are the foundations for understanding kinetic theory.