Perl: Operations (Multiplication/Addition) of Matrices

In summary, the person is a Perl beginner and is struggling with multiplying and adding 3x3 matrices in separate files without using PDL. They are looking for resources or examples to help them with this issue. Another person mentions that they have worked with Perl before but not for matrices and suggests looking at perldoc.perl.org for more information.
Soaring Crane
I'm trying to figure out how to multiply and add square (3 X 3) matrices with Perl (without PDL) in which each matrix is in a separate file, but I haven't been making any progress. I'm a Perl beginner, so does anyone have any suggestions for examples/resources that may help me?

Thanks.

Technology news on Phys.org
I've worked with Perl a lot, but never for matrices, a.k.a. multidimensional arrays. It's not the first language I'd think of for doing numerical stuff. :-p

So I can't help you from direct experience. However, a Google search for "perl multidimensional array" turns up a lot of hits, including the following page from perldoc:

http://perldoc.perl.org/perllol.html

Related to Perl: Operations (Multiplication/Addition) of Matrices

1. How do I multiply two matrices in Perl?

In Perl, you can use the Math::MatrixReal module to perform matrix multiplication. First, create two matrix objects with the new() method, and then use the multiply() method to multiply them together. The result will be a new matrix object.

2. Can I add or subtract matrices in Perl?

Yes, you can add or subtract matrices in Perl using the add() or subtract() methods from the Math::MatrixReal module. These methods will return a new matrix object with the result.

3. Is there a limit to the size of matrices that can be operated on in Perl?