Performing MLEM with Response Matrix for 4pi Imager and 1x3 Vector Input

• A
  • Thread starter a.glick
  • Start date
  • Tags
In summary, the conversation discusses using a response matrix for a 4pi imager to perform MLEM, with dimensions of (16 x 16 x 18) x (72 x 36) for Observation Bins x Source Bins. The individual is trying to use MLEM to create an image by inputting a 1x3 vector of det1, det2, and theta, but is unsure how to do the MLEM iteration in this case. More information and a description of MLEM and 4pi kinematic imaging would be helpful for obtaining answers to their questions.
a.glick
TL;DR Summary
I am studying 4pi kinematic imaging with a neutron scatter camera and want to perform MLEM given det1, det2, and theta values for my cones.
I have a response matrix for my 4pi imager to perform MLEM that has dimensions:

(16 x 16 x 18) x (72 x 36) which is Observation Bins x Source Bins.

I'm told that I can use MLEM to create an image by feeding in a 1x3 vector of

det1, det2, theta

into the MLEM algorithm. Where det1, det2 are the 2 detectors a particle interacts with in the kinematic imaging and theta is the opening angle of a cone of probability for the particle's incident direction. However every paper I've read says I need a vectorized image (or simple backprojection) that has a 1 x (72 x 36) dimensional form. How can I do the MLEM iteration in my case?

Physics news on Phys.org
You'll have a much better chance of getting answers to your questions if you provide more information.
  • What is MLEM? We shouldn't need to do a search to find what this algorithm is. A link to a description of this algorithm would be helpful.
  • What is 4pi kinematic imaging?

Likes WWGD

Related to Performing MLEM with Response Matrix for 4pi Imager and 1x3 Vector Input

1. What is MLEM and how does it relate to the 4pi Imager and 1x3 Vector Input?