Square matrices, determinants and consistency

In summary, the conversation discusses questions about determinants and their relation to the solutions of matrices. A non-zero determinant indicates that the matrix is invertible, and has a unique solution. If the determinant is zero, the matrix is singular and may or may not have solutions. For a homogeneous system, a determinant of zero indicates infinitely many solutions. Singular matrices are those with a determinant of zero, while non-singular matrices have a non-zero determinant.
Asif
This is the first time I'm posting (or rather asking) anything here. I'm a student of elementary linear algebra, therefore please excuse me if my questions come across as dumb or if I make any mistakes:

I have a question about determinants and whether or not a solution exists, etc. I will be focusing on square matrices only:

If the determinant of a matrix is not equal to zero, then does that mean the matrix has a unique solution?

If the determinant is equal to zero, then either the matrix has infinitely many solutions or no solution, correct?

And if it is a homogeneous system, then the system has infinitely many solutions if the determinant is equal to zero, correct?

Thanking you in advance,
Bye.

P.S. Could someone kindly tell me what is meant by singular and non-singular matrices?

Physics news on Phys.org
One doesn't say a matrix has a solution. Matrices are used to describe sets of linear equations but that is not all they are there for. Second, non-square matrices do not have a determinant.

Non-zero determinant means the matrix is invertible (non-singular), so if you're solving Ax=b, then the answer is given by x=A^{-1}b and the solution is unique.

If the matrix has determinant zero it is singular, and the equations they describe may or may not have solutions. If there is a solution there will be infinitely many of them.