Pendulum fallacy - hovering rockets, still applies?

In summary, Michael's argument is that a rocket which is hovering would be better off having a payload hang below the rocket, rather than having a payload at the same level or above the thrusters. He does not provide any specific evidence to support his claim, and so it is up to others to decide if he is right or wrong.
michaeldk
Hi all!

I've come here to seek your expertise because I've ran into a bit of a heated discussion (well, heated from the other side ;-) about rockets, hovering and center of gravity.

Basically people are referencing to the pendulum fallacy when I say that a rocket which is hovering would be better off having a payload hang below the rocket, rather than having a payload at the same level or above the thrusters. I am by no means an expert, not even something distantly related to one! So it might well be that I am wrong, but everything that I do know about helicopters and general physics seems to indicate that having the payload hanging below the thrusters when hovering should be more stable.

Can anyone comment on this? I'd be greatly helped! I don't mind being proven wrong at all, but certainly would enjoy it of course if the logic I applied in the end made sense :)

- Michael

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF!

In short, since the direction of the force from the rocket engine is "rigidly" attached to and turning with the rocket body it does not in itself give any additional stability to mount the rocket engine at the top.

I recommend that you search for "rocket pendulum fallacy" and then return with specific questions if you come up empty handed or if the explanations you find do not make sense to you.

Filip Larsen said:
Welcome to PF!

In short, since the direction of the force from the rocket engine is "rigidly" attached to and turning with the rocket body it does not in itself give any additional stability to mount the rocket engine at the top.