I am heavy or having more mass ? E=mc^2

In summary, according to heavy, mass does increase as speed increases. However, this increase is not observable in the moving frame.
Kabu
I am "heavy" or having "more mass"? E=mc^2

Well,
I was discussing a problem with my physics teacher, it is seems very simple. However, it seems also that it require a bit of philosophy :)

Here it is:
Imagine that there is an object which moves with a constant velocity in a certain direction, according to E=mc^2, the object's mass should increases.
The question now is:
Does this (increasing in mass) as an (increasing in the usm of mass/energy in the body? or it is as an (increasing in the "actual mass" of the object)?

Thx in advance

Physics news on Phys.org
Hello Kabu, i am glad to see you here.
You know i am no expert in physics, but i will give you what i have understood so far from browsing the forums.
Mass is two kinds :
1-Rest Mass (Mass when the object's velocity is zero)
2-Relativistic Mass (Mass due to the relativistic effect).

Now since people normally understand the concept of 'mass' as the rest mass, then ,when being not technical, your mass will not increase as your speed increase (only your energy will).
But from a more physicist point of view, your 'mass' will increase, since your energy will increase, and turn out into 'relativistic mass'.

I hope i was helpfull.

I think STAii's got it right. For example, accelerating to near lightspeed will not cause you to generate a larger gravitational field, and will not ever cause you to collapse into a black hole etc.

Uhmmm, it seems fine :)
But now: imagine now if I am making a Bar-b-q,now the "meat" did not have any velocity,it is stable in its position. However,it is gaining energy by heating it,so according to this (since we consider no mass loss because of heating eg water etc) the mass of the meat will increase...

It is fine? I think so
Thx in advance for helping