Partner study for grad students on winter break: Success stories?

In summary, the conversation discusses the idea of using the upcoming winter break to study probability theory and stochastic processes. The speaker, a grad student, suggests doing a self or partner study, but also mentions the limited time available. They suggest picking a topic with online tutorials and discussing questions on a forum.
ben-ui
I'm a grad student studying electrical/computer engineering. Since I have a month of winter break coming up soon, I want to use it to study some more about probability theory and stochastic processes. Has anyone previously done a self study or partner study over a break like this? If so, how did it work for you?

Anyone up for doing this as a partner study?

Physics news on Phys.org
As I recall winter breaks, a month isn't time to learn much. And if you take a week to organize the materials or coordinate with a partner you'll have even less time! My advice is to pick a topic where some online tutorials are available and start discussing questions about them here on the forum.

ben-ui said:
I'm a grad student
ben-ui said:
Since I have a month of winter break coming up soon
This is a trick question. Grad students don't get breaks. Is ben-ui my old advisor? ;)

Related to Partner study for grad students on winter break: Success stories?

1. What is "Winter break math study"?

"Winter break math study" refers to the practice of studying math during the winter break from school. It involves reviewing and practicing math concepts and skills learned in school to maintain proficiency and prepare for upcoming lessons.

2. Why is it important to study math during winter break?