Particle Physics PhD Interviews: Preparation & Experiences

In summary, the individual is seeking information about what generally happens at a PhD interview for particle physics and is worried about being asked difficult physics questions. They are confident and knowledgeable about the subject but concerned about being asked to solve or derive something on the spot. They have been told that technical questions are not common in PhD interviews but are still worried.
alsey42147
so, i have a few interviews for PhDs in particle physics over the next month and I'm looking for some information on what generally happens at a PhD interview. If anyone would like to share their experiences, interviewers or interviewees, i would greatly appreciate it.

I'm not too worried about the general interview stuff - I'm pretty confident and enthusiastic and generally knowledgeable about the subject (compared to my peers) - its the hard physics questions they might ask that concerns me. With my undergrad degree I find it easy enough to learn everything and do well in the exams, and I'm on track for a 1st, but I'm not so good at answering random questions off the top of my head. Basically I'm worried they're going to ask me to derive something or solve a problem and I just won't be able to do it, even though given 5 minutes on my own I would probably work it out. Is this a reasonable to concern to have, and is it common to be asked to solve or derive stuff in a PhD interview?

Physics news on Phys.org
I've always been told that highly technical questions are seldom asked at a PhD admission interview, but I could be wrong. I hope they don't ask really tough questions, because I am going to go through the same process in upcoming months.

I understand your concerns about your upcoming PhD interviews in particle physics. First of all, congratulations on being selected for these interviews! This is a great opportunity for you to showcase your passion and knowledge in the field.