Pair production -- Seeking clarification of the explanation

In summary, the conversation revolves around fact checking a statement about particles interacting in a vacuum. The speaker is seeking a source for this concept and mentions their interest in metaphysics and how it relates to scientific discoveries. The conversation ends with a reminder about the importance of valid references for discussions on this site.
Quixotic Larry
How did you find PF?: a web search on an item I am fact-checking.

I have very little background in physics specifically. I do have a thirst for knowledge. I seek treasures in many places, when I find one I attempt to correlate and ingrate it with other tidbits I have found. I have more of a background in metaphysics than physics however both interest me.

I am fact checking something recently shared with me about how particles interact in a vacuum. Simply stated it says that two particles in a vacuum will seek out, find and merge with each other. Later they separate, with each retaining a portion of the other. Should it be that this is valid, a location of the actual work with the concept would be a treasure to me. If it were a fallacy, this would be nice to know also

Thank you

• Skeptical
Likes Vanadium 50 and PeroK
Physics news on Phys.org
Quixotic Larry said:
I am fact checking something recently shared with me
Please give a reference. We don't discuss unsourced random comments.

Quixotic Larry said:
Simply stated it says that two particles in a vacuum will seek out, find and merge with each other. Later they separate, with each retaining a portion of the other.
Are you sure they weren't talking about people, rather than particles?

• Haha
Likes mattt, phinds and DrChinese
PeroK said:
Are you sure they weren't talking about people, rather than particles?

PeterDonis said:
Please give a reference. We don't discuss unsourced random comments.