Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Order of product of elements in a group

Arnold

Jan 11, 2013
Hello.

I'm just beginning my course in algebra. I've been reading Milne, Group Theory ( http://www.jmilne.org/math/CourseNotes/GT310.pdf page 29).
I've found there a very nice proof of the fact that given two elements in a finite group, we cannot really say very much about their product's order. However, there are some things about the proof I do not quite understand. Namely - the first paragraph. What are the images of elements in \(\displaystyle SL_2(\mathbb{F}_q)/ \{+-I\}\) and why do we divide the orders of \(\displaystyle a, \ b, \ c\) by \(\displaystyle 2\)?

Is it because the centre(\(\displaystyle \{+-I\} \)) has order \(\displaystyle 2\) and thus by Lagrange's theorem, the order of the quotient group must be two times smaller?

I would really appreciate a thorough explanation. Maybe you know a simpler proof of the fact (about the order of product of elements)?

Thank you.

Opalg

MHB Oldtimer
Staff member
Feb 7, 2012
Hello.

I'm just beginning my course in algebra. I've been reading Milne, Group Theory ( http://www.jmilne.org/math/CourseNotes/GT310.pdf page 29).
I've found there a very nice proof of the fact that given two elements in a finite group, we cannot really say very much about their product's order. However, there are some things about the proof I do not quite understand. Namely - the first paragraph. What are the images of elements in \(\displaystyle SL_2(\mathbb{F}_q)/ \{+-I\}\) and why do we divide the orders of \(\displaystyle a, \ b, \ c\) by \(\displaystyle 2\)?
If $a$ has order $2m$ then $a^m$ has order $2$. But, as Milne points out, $-I$ is the unique element of order $2$ in $\text{SL}_2(\mathbb{F}_q)$. Therefore $a^m = -I$, so that (the coset of) $a^m$ is the identity element in the quotient group $\text{SL}_2(\mathbb{F}_q)/\{\pm I\}.$ It follows that the image of $a$ has order $m$ in the quotient group.