Order in Renormalization Theory

In summary: In other words, all divergences appearing in renormalization perturbation theory are of order ##\hbar##.
taishizhiqiu
I am currently studying QFT with 'An Introduction to Quantum Field Theory' by peskin. In part 2 (renormalization) of the book, he introduces counterterms and shows how to compute scattering amplitude with them.
Below are counterterms of [itex]\phi^4[/itex] theory:
DAE819FC-4B8C-44D9-BBEA-C6CDFF6E859E.png

Then he calculates a 2-2 scattering process to the second order:
D35F5BE9-A5C2-4F7D-BE2F-957D05B284FE.png

Here I have a few questions:

1. Why the fifth diagram in the second line of the second picture is of the same order to the previous three diagrams?

2. Now that [itex]\delta_m,\delta_Z,\delta_\lambda[/itex] are infinite numbers, how can they use perturbation theory and what is the meaning of order in renormalization perturbation theory?

Edit: should this thread be moved to Homework section? It just cannot be fit into the question structure there.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
It's most simple to look at perturbative renormalization in terms of the finite physical quantities. So you start at tree level. There's no counterterm necessary since you just take the S-matrix elements from your Feynman rules, evaluate cross sections at tree level ("Born approximation") and fit the coupling and masses to some experiment.