Orbiting a Star: Exploring Kinetic & Gravitational Energy

In summary, according to Astros, an object orbits a star, and the system as a whole experiences a decrease in kinetic energy and a decrease in total energy. However, other effects always inject or remove energy, so for a first approximation these concepts hold true.
astros10
An object orbits a star, both items comprise the system. I am looking for confirmation of a couple of concepts regarding orbits.

As the object slows down, does the kinetic energy of the system decrease, and does the total energy of the system decrease?
As the kinetic energy of the system increases, does the gravitational potential energy decrease?

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF, Astros.
I am no expert in any of this stuff by anyone's stretch of imagination, but I'll throw in my 2 cents anyhow.
To start with, no situation in the universe constitutes a true closed system... except for the universe itself. There are always gravitational, electromagnetic and possibly (:rolleyes:) other effects from other areas. Even the perpetual popping in and out of virtual particles indicates interference. That having been said, those effects are pretty much negligible in the scenario that you propose.
If it was truly closed, then the system could suffer no loss of total energy. What is lost in one area is gained in another.
As for your last question, either it's too vague or I just don't understand it. To my thinking, more information about how the kinetic energy is increased would be needed.
Hang tight... someone who knows what he's talking about should be along shortly.

"someone who knows what he's talking about" ... or just me.:wink: