Orbital angular momentum and powers of k

In summary, the conversation discusses the presence of powers of the momentum in systems with orbital angular momentum greater than zero. The reason for this is related to the solutions of the radial part of the wave equation and can be found in books such as Weinberg's "Lectures on Quantum Mechanics" or any quantum mechanics book that covers scattering theory.
Einj
Hi guys,
I have a question which is probably stupid. I am studying angular momentum and I have found almost everywhere that, if we have orbital angular momentum higher than [itex]\ell=0[/itex] then it brings powers of the momentum of the system like [itex]k^\ell[/itex]. What is the reason of that? Can someone suggest a book where I can find it or something?

Thank you

Physics news on Phys.org
I may be able to help but I need to know where this is coming from. You say this appears in a few books, can you name one so I can check what it says?

You can find it, for example, in Weinberg - Lectures on Quantum Mechanics, in the chapter on Shallow Bound States, when he talks about the request for the state to be in S-wave in order to avoid suppression by factors [itex]k^\ell[/itex].

It comes out by solving the radial part of wave eqn which contains the factor of l(l+1),there we use
ρ=kr as the variable and in some simplification with potential,the solutions are of the form (ρl)+(1/ρl+1),second part is rejected for finiteness near the origin which does give kl type term.All quantum mechanics books containing scattering theory deals with it.

Ok, thank you very much. I'll definitely take a look at that!

Related to Orbital angular momentum and powers of k

What is orbital angular momentum?

Orbital angular momentum refers to the rotational motion of a particle or object around a fixed point or axis. It is a vector quantity that describes the amount of rotational energy and direction of rotation.

How is orbital angular momentum related to powers of k?