Options for running code on a smart phone

In summary: Once you have an account you can use the built in submission form to submit your project to the website's "review" section.In summary, an undergraduate is trying to rewrite a code that calculates relativistic kinematics for two-body nuclear reactions so that it can be easily used in the laboratory. He has run into a problem with app development on smartphones, and is looking for suggestions on how to make the code work without going through the app store. There are many different ways to do this, but the easiest option is probably to use a web server.
alliecat
Hello everyone!

I am an undergrad currently doing research for a nuclear physicist at the University of Notre Dame.

My current project is taking a code (written in Fortran-63 in 1967 ?:)) that calculates relativistic kinematics for two-body nuclear reactions and converting into some sort of phone application that can be easily used in the laboratory.

The problem I've run into is that after looking into Apple and Android app development, it looks like a program like this (especially when it's written by an undergrad without a ton of experience in user-interface) will not make into an app store.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to implement code on a smartphone without having to go through the app store? My thought was maybe through a mobile-friendly web page or something along those lines, but I wouldn't know where to begin implementing that.

Technology news on Phys.org
I would start by rewriting the code in a modern language (e.g. Java) and get it to work on a PC. There you can easily experiment with the user interface. When you are satisfied, you can start thinking about transferring it to a smartphone.

A web page with JavaScript or PHP should work. There are multiple ways to make smartphones run your own code, but web pages are by far the easiest one.

Likes mheslep
mfb said: