Optimization With Two Constraints

In summary, the problem involves finding the maximum value of the objective function ad-bc, given the constraints a²+b²=2 and (c-3)²+(d-4)²=1. The Lagrange Multiplier method can be used to solve this problem, and after setting up the system of equations involving the partials, we find that the critical points are (a,b,c,d)=\left(\pm\frac{4}{5}\sqrt{2},\mp\frac{3}{5}\sqrt{2},\frac{12}{5},\frac{16}{5} \right),\,\left(\pm\frac{4}{5}\sqrt{2},\mp\frac{3
anemone
Gold Member
MHB
POTW Director
Hi MHB,

I've come across this problem recently:

If a²+b²=2 and (c-3)²+(d-4)²=1, find the maximum value of ad-bc.

I haven't solved it and actually, I don't know of any algebraic method I could use to solve it and I am wondering if this problem is doable with the Lagrange Multiplier method. However, as some of you know, I am new to this method, and I don't know how to handle multiple constraints.

If you're interested in this problem and want to share with me your idea on how to crack it using a purely algebraic method that would be fine, but if you could help me solve it using Lagrange Multipliers, I would like that too.

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
We have the objective function:

\(\displaystyle f(a,b,c,d)=ad-bc\)

subject to the constraints:

\(\displaystyle g(a,b,c,d)=a^2+b^2-2=0\)

\(\displaystyle h(a,b,c,d)=(c-3)^2+(d-4)^2-1=0\)

So, what you want to do is write the system (involving the indicated partials):

\(\displaystyle f_a=\lambda g_a+\mu h_a\)

\(\displaystyle f_b=\lambda g_b+\mu h_b\)

\(\displaystyle f_c=\lambda g_c+\mu h_c\)

\(\displaystyle f_d=\lambda g_d+\mu h_d\)

What do you get?

MarkFL said:
We have the objective function:

\(\displaystyle f(a,b,c,d)=ad-bc\)

subject to the constraints:

\(\displaystyle g(a,b,c,d)=a^2+b^2-2=0\)

\(\displaystyle h(a,b,c,d)=(c-3)^2+(d-4)^2-1=0\)

So, what you want to do is write the system (involving the indicated partials):

\(\displaystyle f_a=\lambda g_a+\mu h_a\)