Optimization problem using exact Hessian

In summary: You can solve for the unique matrix C by using the LU decomposition of W:Solve for C in CV = W (where C is a matrix and V&W are column vectors).via C*(v#q) = w#q = Cwhere q is a row vector and # is some outter product, such that v#q = I = Identity.
brydustin
hi, I'm kind of new to optimization theory, and I have to maximize a multi-dimensional problem where I know the exact gradient and hessian. In other words, techniques such as BFGS are not sufficient because I don't want to approximate the Hessian (with an initial guess for example of H=I), I have the exact (analytical) Hessian and want to optimize my problem up to second order
i.e.
f(x + δ) ≈ f(x) + gT δ +.5*δTHδ (2nd order Taylor expansiona around δ)

Could someone please suggest a technique? Thanks in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org
Newton's Method?

Well yes, I was thinking about this but was unsure how to best pick gamma
for
x_(n+1) = x_n - γ[Hf(x_n)]^-1 Del(f(x_n)
such that gamma satisfies the Wolfe conditions and the optimization is the quickest possible.

Also I wasn't sure if Newton's method was the best analytical method or if its just the first one everyone learns (like bisection method in single variable numerical methods is first day technique).

Optimizing a second order polynomial is called quadratic programming, and you can find a lot of literature on it by doing a google search. Are you solving this inside of MATLAB or something, or writing your own optimizer from scratch?

Office_Shredder said:
Optimizing a second order polynomial is called quadratic programming, and you can find a lot of literature on it by doing a google search. Are you solving this inside of MATLAB or something, or writing your own optimizer from scratch?

I believe that I'm going to be writting this from scratch, ... , I may not though, if I am satisfied with what Mathematica or Fortran has to offer.

Matlab's interior point algorithm, called by fmincon: