Oppurtunities with double major EE and MS in Math?

In summary, the speaker is a sophomore in college with a high GPA and is considering a program that offers a BS in EE, Math, and MS in Math. They are wondering about career opportunities in this path and express a strong interest in studying the universe, particularly in astrophysics. The suggestion is made to consider doing a physics PhD or combined MS in physics instead for a more serious focus on physics.
sergeantk
I'm currently a sophomore at college and I have a very high gpa. My school offers a program where I can work on BS in EE, Math, and MS in Math in just a few years.

What I'm wondering is if there are a lot of career opportunities for choosing this path. I am completely interested in finding out how the universe works physically and mathematically. I also have an interest in astrophysics and i feel that this path would eventually bring me to opportunities to study the universe, especially once I go to grad school.

In other words, is this worth the trouble?

Physics news on Phys.org
am completely interested in finding out how the universe works physically and mathematically.

Perhaps you should do a physics PhD.

In other words, is this worth the trouble?

If you would like to do physics in a serious way, it doesn't hurt to know a bunch of math, but you might consider doing a combined MS in physics instead of in math.

Related to Oppurtunities with double major EE and MS in Math?

1. What career opportunities are available with a double major in EE and MS in Math?

A double major in EE and MS in Math opens up a wide range of career opportunities in fields such as engineering, data science, research and development, finance, and more. You can work in industries such as telecommunications, renewable energy, aerospace, and technology.

2. How does a double major in EE and MS in Math benefit my career?