Op-Amp Questions - V/S Output Sat. Voltage & Load Current

• Thread starter hemant03
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Op-amp
In summary, an OP-amp just multiplies the input by the gain, and you cannot get a result greater than the supply voltage.
hemant03
Hi,
I am new to circuit designing and I have a question on one of the parameters in the spec sheet of op - amp.
I don't quiet understand (see the graph) what does the output saturation voltage v/s (overdrive voltage or load current) is and why is it almost the same for outout being low or high.
I have attached the pdf of the specsheet for easy viewing.

Attachments

• LT1638_LT1639.pdf
    218 KB · Views: 205
Engineering news on Phys.org
Basically an OP-amp just multiplies the input by the gain.
You can't get a result greater than the supply voltage.

What exactly happens when your input exceeds the maximum allowed by your supply voltage depends on the internal construction of the OP-amp.
The graphs are there to show the result of doing this.

Hi,
Thanks for the response but my question is specific to the graph showing output saturation voltage v/s load current for output being high or low. Basically I am unable to understand the relation between output sat. voltage, load current and output being a high or low.

Thanks,
- Hemant

Opamps have transistors in their output stages to deliver these currents. A saturated output stage is one that cannot deliver any more current, even if you drive it harder. It is saturated !

Look at page 12 of the PDF data to see the output stage is two bipolar transistors, the PNP one for pull-up, and the NPN one for pull-down. A saturated transistor is not a zero resistance device. There will be some volts across it that will increase as the current increases.

Notice also that both axes of the data graph are logarithmic.