One-point compactification of space of matrices with positive trace

In summary, this argument of Penrose and Hawking says that if any component of a matrix U is very large then q is close to the point x, and that the one-point compactification of this space of matrices is compact.
julian
Gold Member
one-point compactification of space of matrices with non-negative trace

Hi I'm a physicist and my question is a bit text-bookey but it is also part of the proof that the universe had a beginning...so could I ask anyway...You got q which is a continuous function of a 3 by 3 matrix where if any component of the matrix is very large then q is close to the point x, then with the trace of the matrix greater than or equal to zero, the one-point compactification of this space of matrices, where the point at infinity is mapped to x, is compact...please explain. Thanks.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
The book is "HAWKING ON THE BIG BANG AND BLACKHOLES", chapter 1, pg.20. Actually I'm going to sleep now...must look at the stuff you gave tomorrow..thanks for your response julian.

My suggestion would be to give up on Hawking and Penrose sketch of the theorem and look a more precise version, like in

Relativity and Singularities - A Short Introduction for Mathematicians
Jose Natario

http://arxiv.org/abs/math/0603190

and also Hawking and Ellis monograph cited thereof.

I think in "Relativity and Singularities - A Short Introduction for Mathematicians" they are considering a more restrictive form of the singularity theorem and as such don't need to consider this argument of Penrose and Hawking.

As for the topology imposed on the matrices...Penrose Hawking do use the Schwarz's inequality where they define the norm to be || U || = [tr (U^tU)]^{1/2}. And obviously the open balls defined by the norm could be a basis for a topological space...