Factors affecting mobile phone signals

In summary, a student studying International Baccalaureate Physics is doing a presentation on cellphones and is seeking detailed scientific information about the factors that affect cellphone signal strength. However, obtaining this information from network providers has proven difficult due to concerns about revealing trade secrets. The inverse square law can be applied to understand the decrease in intensity of electromagnetic radiation from a cellphone signal as the distance from the source increases. Other important factors to consider include physical obstructions, the intensity of the cell tower transmitter, the minimum signal required for a connection, and the density of cell towers in the region. Additionally, the background radiation and the cellphone's tolerance for interference are also relevant factors.
spill
I am currently studying an International Baccalaureate Physics course, and I am currently in my first year of study (i.e. I'm 16). As part of this, I am doing a presentation on cellphones; not my decision, but to get to the point:

If anyone could refer me to some information detailing which factors affect cellphone signal strength, it would be much appreciated. Obviously, I know what they are, but finding detailed scientific information about, say, how important they are relative to one another is proving exceedingly difficult. I have contacted a number of network providers only to receive apologetic letters saying they cannot go into detail due to the risk of revealing their secrets. Any help would be great, and an equation of some kind would be fantastic. Many thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
One easily applicable physics law is the inverse square law.

The electromagnetic radiation that constitutes a cellphone signal will decrease in intensity by the sqare of the distance from source.