Number of Wires & Cross-Sectional Area

In summary, a student in high school is seeking clarification on the factors affecting resistance in a wire, specifically related to the number of wires and its representation of the cross-sectional area. The student came across an experiment that showed changing the number of wires also changes the cross-sectional area, but is confused about how this affects the circuit and if it becomes a parallel circuit. They are looking for clarification on this matter.
BranTkC
Hi there, I'm a student in high school.
I'm quite new to the forum. Please forgive my mistakes.

Homework Statement
My question is related to electricity, more specifically the factors affecting resistance in a wire. I know that resistance is inversely proportional to the cross-sectional area of the wire.

Does the number of wires represent the cross-sectional area of the wire?

Relevant equations
The circuit diagram is in the attachment.
I came across an experiment which describes that by changing the number of wires (ie. changing the number of eureka wires), we actually change its cross-sectional area.

The attempt at a solution
However, doesn't adding the number of wires make it become a parallel circuit?

Help to clarify please?

Attachments

• Resistance.jpg
    Resistance.jpg
    6.3 KB · Views: 474
Physics news on Phys.org
By adding more wires between points x and y, you are increasing the cross section of wire between these points. Between x and y, these wires are in parallel (so there is less current flowing through each wire. Using V=IR where V = const you can see that R reduces).

Alright. Thanks!

Related to Number of Wires & Cross-Sectional Area

What is the relationship between the number of wires and cross-sectional area in an electrical circuit?