Number of Waves/Crests in Tsunami Wave Train

• Thread starter morrobay
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Train Wave
In summary: It looks to me that at least there is no clear cut answer to your question.Ok well I just don't know, I am a mathematician that knows something about classical wave theory but I am no expert in water waves and tsunamis. Just wait a little longer, maybe this thread will attract the attention of more people and possibly some experts. It looks to me that at least there is no clear cut answer to your question.One wave can have multiple crests, but each crest is not necessarily a separate wave. In the case of a tsunami, the seismic event may produce multiple crests, but they are all part of the same wave. Therefore, in the scenario described, there would be one wave that hits the beach, with
morrobay
Gold Member
Homework Statement
An event 1600km offshore produces a Tsunami. Wavelength= 200km Velocity = 800km/hr. How many waves in the wave train ?
Relevant Equations
k= 2pi/wl = .0314 radians. T = wl/v = .25 hr. w = 2pi/T = radians/hr.
In the two hours the wave is traveling from event 1600km offshore to land would eight waves/crests be produced: 2hours/T=15minutes be correct ? Eight cycles = eight waves in the train. * I asked on another physics forum. No reply. "Tried" to register on several oceanography forums.

Likes Delta2
Physics news on Phys.org
morrobay said:
Homework Statement:: An event 1600km offshore produces a Tsunami. Wavelength= 200km Velocity = 800km/hr. How many waves in the wave train ?
Relevant Equations:: k= 2pi/wl = .0314 radians. T = wl/v = .25 hr. w = 2pi/T = radians/hr.

In the two hours the wave is traveling from event 1600km offshore to land would eight waves/crests be produced: 2hours/T=15minutes be correct ? Eight cycles = eight waves in the train. * I asked on another physics forum. No reply. "Tried" to register on several oceanography forums.