Feynman Diagrams: Understanding Photon-Mediated Electromagnetic Force

In summary, the conversation discusses the confusion surrounding Feynman diagrams and the concept of photons mediating the electromagnetic force. The height difference in the vertices of the diagram is due to the convention of using time as the vertical axis. The important factor in calculating the amplitude is the reaction channel and the correct momentum and masses. Online sources can be helpful in understanding these concepts until a book is obtained.
Moose352
I'm pretty new to the particle physics world, and modern physics in general, so bear with me. I also don't have a book yet, so it's kind of messed up I'm a bit confused by a few apsects of feynman diagrams, although my confusion actually lies much deeper. Looking at this diagram http://www.mov.vic.gov.au/scidiscovery/images/mn001708_w150.jpg which shows two electrons repelling, I don't understand why the vertex of the electron on the right is higher than that of the left. Actually, I don't think I even understand the concept of photons mediating the em force. I guess I don't really understand when a particle emits photons, and what implications that has. Can anyone point me to a good online source (until I get a book) or explain?

thanks

Physics news on Phys.org