Not enough serial ports on Arduino Mega -- Options?

In summary, this person is working on a project involving multiple Arduinos and wants to use RS232 as their communication protocol. They are considering using RS485 but are worried about the reliability of the system.
taylaron
Gold Member
Greetings!
I'm working on a project involving multiple different Arduinos spaced about 500 feet apart. I have a master Arduino which I plan on being an Arduino Mega and 5-8 separate slave Arduinos (probably Arduino Nanos) which feed basic data like switch values to the master. I would like to use RS232 as my communication protocol, using 1 serial port on the master Arduino per slave. My problem is there are only 4 serial ports on the Arduino Mega. I was curious if anyone knows of a way to rig more digital I/O pins as serial outputs or if there is something I hadn't considered.

note: I'm fixed on using wired communication, and my speed doesn't need to be very high- 9000 baud is plenty.

I had considered using RS485, but I'm trying to minimize device size and hardware as well as keeping the system simple.

Kind regards

Engineering news on Phys.org
Have you considered a more dispersed topology? Perhaps you can use four of the slaves to multiplex commands to the others? If not, how about extra multiplexing slaves colocated with the master? Or you could buy or make an RS-232 multiplexing switch.

This is a problem that's been solved many times. I'm sure an internet search will yield lots of options.

Your main problem will be that RS232 is only spec'd to 50ft, sure it can be longer (at slower speeds) and faster (at short distances) but it's designed with high impedance drivers of greater than 3k Ohms. To drive 100+ foot cables you should use a RS4XX (multi-drop) interface or a similar Line Driver if you want to stay pure serial data and still have reliable connections.

http://www.rs485.com/rs485spec.html
8 port repeater hub RS232 to RS485
http://www.rs485.com/pmhubx8.html