Normalization, reweighting, and the scale factor:

In summary: Normalization and reweighting are used when we have an experimental spectrum and we want to make sure that the area under the histogram is the same as the area of the original spectrum.
mborn
Hi all,

I am about to begin my studies as an experimentalist and I keep hearing about these terms when someone represents his data as histograms.
Can some one here, please, give me a clear explanation about their meanings.
My background is theory and you can use as much mathematics as you can!

Thanks a lot in advance,

~mborn

Physics news on Phys.org
normalization: generally this term comes in spectrum...after getting a experimental spectrum one often normalize it...experimental spectrum and normalized spectrum are same but with different y-axis value..for e.g., area of a exp. spectrum is different from normalized spectrum..usually a normalized one's area is often 1 or some value.
reweighting..:similar to normalization..it depends on experiment.
scale factor: usually multiplying either x- or y-axis by a constant.
hope this help

To make things eaiser, let's say you are in a a particle physics experiment that is trying to discover a particle.
Now, for normalization, how can we make the area under the histogram equal one?
Can you elaborate more on reweighting? What is the difference between reweighting (to Monte Carlo) and normalization?

~mborn

Hi,
normalization(actually this is a general technique used everywhere not only for particle physics):
think..we have a exp. spectrum [tex]\int I(E)\;{\rm d}E=X[/tex]
now we will normalize that spectrum such that area under the spectrum is 1.
So what ppl. usually do is
[tex]\int I_{\rm norm}(E)\;{\rm d}E=\frac{1}{X}\int I(E)\;{\rm d}E=1[/tex]
This is how a normalization done.[but i am not completely sure..i assume others from this forum may correct us in case of error.]
Now i can give a example for weighing (i don't know exactly what is reweighing?).
in this integral: