Nonlinear Equations: How to Solve Deviations from Textbook Solutions

In summary, the conversation discusses a problem with a retired engineer's simulation of gas dynamics equations using the Newton-Raphson method. The solutions obtained using this method deviate significantly from the solutions in the text, even when using the author's initial guesses. There is a suspicion that the author may have used a different method or a "best fit" solution, and the engineer is seeking advice on how to resolve this issue. The conversation also includes equations, data, and constants related to the problem.
DrScanlon
First off, thanks to the people who started this forum, and I apologize for this post being so long-winded.

I'm a retired engineer dabbling in engine simulation. The text I'm using as the foundation for the gas dynamics theory contains several nonlinear equation sets for each simulated scenario, followed by the answers for the unknown variables.

Using one particular set of 4 equations, I use the Newton-Raphson (N-R) method, as recommended by the author, and obtain the solution for the 4 unknowns. The problem is that my solution (the variable values) deviates substantially from the solution in the text even if I use the author's solved values--or something very near them in value--as my initial first guess. I also see this problem when using a commercial nonlinear solver. I thought a good test would be to plug the text solution values into each of the equations, expecting to see a "0" result for each, but instead, some results were far from zero. All of the coefficients match those in the text and I have verified that the equations are correct.