Non Student Teaching Self Physics: Question about Science Programming Languages.

In summary, the speaker has taught themselves Calculus and Freshman physics using textbooks and is now interested in learning physics software. They have questions about the relevance of learning C, the next most physics-oriented programming software, and whether it is possible to learn C in Visual C++. They also express a love for physics and a desire to continue learning without access to a lab. They are recommended to use Python for its ease of use and a computer algebra system like Mathematica.
deltapapazulu
My situation is that I taught myself Calculus 1, 2 and some 3 over the last year, and the better part of Freshman physics for majors, mechanics and EM. I bought 4 texts to learn from: Halliday, Tipler, Giancoli, and Young and Freedman. And I just started learning Diff. Eq. & Linear Algebra.

The next logical step I thought (aside from buying some Sophomore physics texts) was to learn some physics software. Fortran was a word I kept seeing in that regard. That is the only reason I started with that. But I keep hearing that it is outdated. Here are some questions:

1. Are there any advantages to learning C? If not then I won't waste my time with it.
2. What is the next most Physics oriented programming software other than Fortran? Matlab is of course something I desire to learn but don't have the money to purchase a legal copy at this point.