Non-relativistic limit of Dirac bilinear

In summary, in the non-relativistic limit, the vector and axial currents take on simplified forms, as mentioned in multiple articles, such as Gondolo's "Phenomenological Introduction to Direct Dark Matter Detection." This is due to the fact that in this limit, the first two components of the Dirac spinor are large while the last two are small. This results in the off-diagonal components of the gamma matrices coupling the small and large components, while the diagonal components couple the large components to themselves and the small components to themselves. The opposite is true for the gamma5 case, where the diagonal components become off-diagonal and vice versa. This concept is also discussed in Peskin's "Coulomb potential" in
Andrea M.
Hi,
I'm studying direct detection techniques for dark matter and in almost all the articles I read (e.g.
Gondolo, P. (1996, May 13). Phenomenological Introduction to Direct Dark Matter Detection. arXiv.org.) the authors say that in the non-relativistic limit the vector and axial currents take the following forms: $$\bar{\nu}\gamma_{\mu}\nu\rightarrow\nu^{\dagger}\nu$$ $$\bar{\nu}\gamma_{\mu}\gamma_5\nu\rightarrow\bar{\nu}\vec{\gamma}\gamma_5\nu$$
can anyone explain me why?

Physics news on Phys.org
One fast answer, in the non-relativistic limit, the first two components of the Dirac spinor are large and the last two are small...
That means that when you take the products of the type: ## \bar{\psi} \gamma_\mu \psi## the ##\gamma_i## which are off-diagonal will couple your small component to the large... while the ##\gamma_0## will couple your large to large and small to small. That's why the ##\bar{\psi} \gamma_i \psi## can be neglected versus the ##\bar{\psi} \gamma_0 \psi = \psi^\dagger \psi##.

For the ##\gamma_5## case the thing is the opposite because gamma5 reverses them (the gamma0 becomes off-diagonal in block form, while the gamma_i become diagonal).