Noise suppressor improves reception, why?

• Thread starter sasilverbulle
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Noise
In summary: The noise suppressor seems to have activated some sort of AGC in the receiver, which is why the stations come in much stronger now.
sasilverbulle
Newbie here, not an EE, just an old Air Force electronic tech from the 70's...please be gentle. :)

I recently installed a noise suppressor inline to the 12v on my 70 Lincoln AM/FM radio. It cleaned up the "whining" noise just fine - but one interesting side note is that my FM stations come in a LOT stronger, not just clearer. Before I would loose my favorite FM station on the way to work in the same spots each time. After the noise suppressor I get the station strong the whole way.

This is creating a bit of a problem as the grey matter in my head can't seem to come to grips with why this could be. :confused:

The only thing I can think of is that the power is totally unfiltered in the radio and the "noise" on the line affected the tuning circuit. I don't have access to a schematic for this radio.

What do you'all think? Why do the stations come in much stronger now?

Thanks in advance!

Engineering news on Phys.org
Someone can answer this better than I can, but the noise on your power supply can make its way into all the circuits of your device and interfere with the signal it is trying to output.

Power supply noise can be worse than noise in the actual signal, because usually filters are designed to remove the signal noise, but the noise they use to power them can make it to the output regardless of filters.

I'm sure there's lots of other reasons, but noise on power supplies is a problem not just for radio receivers.

P.S. Ya also you're right, the noise can get in the PLL or whatever tuning filter they're using and cause the tuning frequency to fluctuate with the noise

Last edited:
sasilverbulle said:
Newbie here, not an EE, just an old Air Force electronic tech from the 70's...please be gentle. :)