Newton's third law and a motor

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of Newton's third law and its application in different scenarios, such as an elevator being accelerated by a motor, a horse pulling a cart, and a weightlifter lifting weights. The key idea is that in a Newton's third law pair of forces, the reaction force due to acceleration is included, and the net force on the accelerating object is non-zero. The conversation also mentions that the concept can be confusing, especially for non-native English speakers.
philly20
hey people,greetings to everyone

i'm an freshman in physics so i have some problems understanding Newton's third law.
for example how can a motor accelerate an elevator upward,or downward?i know Newton's third law acts on different objects,i understood the house and the cart problem.
horse is pulling cart if the force from the ground that acts on the horse is greater than the force of the cart that is pulling a horse,but i don't see two pair of forces in a situation between a motor and an elevator??
also,how can we pull a bucket of water from the watter well,if the forces that act on a bucket and on us are the same?how can a weightlifter push the weight over his head?
please answer me to my questions through Newton's third law,i'm really confused
i'm sorry if i have some grammar mistakes,english is not my native language

cheers

Physics news on Phys.org