Newbie wiring 20 red LEDs to a 9v battery in parallel help pls

In summary: LED. But, I suggest that you test each LED before you buy it to make sure that it is compatible with the voltage and current that you're using.
rody084
Newbie wiring 20 red LEDs to a 9v battery in parallel...help pls :)

hello,

i am completely new to the LED world and electronics world. I am wanting to make a little box with LED lights as an aniversary gift. Basically what I need to know is how to wire 20 red LEDs in parallel so that they run off of one 9v battery. I also will be putting a magnetic reed switch so that they are turned on when the box is opened and off when closed (but this will come later).

For now I need to know:

1. What resistor requirements I have
2. Where to get the resistors and LEDs (i tried radio shack and local electronics stores but they don't have enough variety to meet my needs). I've tried using online resistance calculators to determine the ohms that I need but then I can't find those resistors. I don't need these lights to be too bright.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!

Thank you,

Rody

Engineering news on Phys.org
I don't know anything about electronics, but I've made a few LED things. Frankly, I've never used any resistors at all. Just pick LED's that are made to handle 9-12 volts.

Danger said:
I don't know anything about electronics, but I've made a few LED things. Frankly, I've never used any resistors at all. Just pick LED's that are made to handle 9-12 volts.
That's why they call you Danger, Danger. :biggrin:

To the OP -- you want to set the current through the LED to whatever it is spec'd at for good brightness. For old jellybean LEDs, that's usually around 20mA. For newer high-brightness LEDs, the current can go down to 5mA or even lower. You can experiment with 5-10-20mA and see what current gives you the best brightness.