Newbie Seeking Answers on Physics of R/C Cars

In summary, the conversation is about a user's first time using a forum to ask for help with a Physics summative on R/C cars. They ask for help understanding the difference between AC/DC, the components on an R/C circuit, series/parallel circuits, and what determines the speed of the car. They also mention being new to electricity. Two helpful users provide links to resources on how an electric DC motor works and specifically how it applies to R/C cars. The user thanks them and promises to read the links and ask any further questions.
GuruGhulab
Hi there, this is my first time opening a thread here, i have heard a lot about this site, and how usefull the people are on this site, so please help me out.
Okie,

For my summative in Physics, i need to talk about physics about R/C car, so right now, i have a few questions, please bare with me, i m a total newbie, when it comes to electricity.

1) What is the difference between AC/DC and how does it matter in R/C cars ?

2) what are the components on the the R/C circuit of a R/C car?

3) Difference between series/parrallel circuit, and how do they matter in R/C cars?

4) What detemines the speed of the car ?

thats it for now, please guyz help me out.
Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
sorry, mods just learned that no homework questions here, so please move the thread,
thanks
Sorry once again

How an electric DC motor works.

http://htw.wiley.com/htw/"

Select Chapter 9.5.
Scroll down to the links at the bottom of the webpage.
Got to the two links:
What Spins an Electric Motor
and
DC Motors​

in that order (use the back button on your browser or the Contents link at the bottom of the page to navigate back)

Feel free to post your questions here about these links.

Which means that the speed can be regulated by the supply voltage, but I would guess in real RC cars the speed is changed with a gearbox between the motor and the drive train.

Last edited by a moderator: