(newbie question) Useful mental models for the flow of electricity?

In summary: The electrons on the near side of the break don't have that far to go, so they stop there and the current stops.
jake_pa2001
Hi all

I'm a complete newbie to the subject of electricity and trying to wrap my head round it. To be more precise, I'm trying to build a mental model for myself that accurately predicts what goes on in circuits.

I've read several accounts that suggest a model based on the flow of electrons. In my (quite possibly inaccurate understanding) of these accounts, the model is something like this: there are more electrons at the negative end of a circuit than at the positive end, and therefore there is a push, or a pressure causing electrons to flow from the negative end to the positive end. (The electrons themselves are not necessarily moving that quickly - I've seen a few cm an hour mentioned, but the flow of electrons at the positive end starts more or less instantaneously because of the pressure in the system, a bit like in a hydraulic system)

The question I have about this model, or I should say conceptual problem, is this:

If it really is true that electrons are being 'pushed' by the repelling forces at the negative end, then it's presumably equally true that they are getting 'pulled' by the relative lack of electrons at the positive end.

If there is this 'pull' from the positive end, then you would expect to see the following:

Take a circuit with a wire connecting the negative terminal of a cell to a positive terminal. Now put a break in that wire. If there is a pull from the positive terminal because of lacking electrons, then wouldn't you still get a flow of electrons to the positive terminal from the (broken) wire connected to it even though the wire was no longer connected to the negative terminal? Wouldn't this continue until the free electrons in the conductor gradually 'emptied out' until there were none left after a few hours?