New strategy for upper level physics?

In summary, the speaker is a sophomore physics major who is concerned about their junior/senior level optics class and feels they may need to catch up on the material. They are worried about the efficiency of their learning strategy and are seeking advice on how to succeed in upper level physics courses. They have taken a similar approach in the past, but feel that this optics class may be more challenging due to the professor's teaching style and the lack of clarity on what will be on the exams. They also have concerns about the level of math required for the course and are unsure of what to expect on the exams. They are seeking advice on how to prepare for the exams and handle any potential complex derivations.
jbrussell93
I am a sophomore physics major and having worries about the junior/senior level optics class that I'm currently enrolled in (Optics by Hecht). The prerequisite for the class is only intro physics II which I had last semester but I fear that I still have some catching up to do. A lot of the notation and jargon is new to me, and I'm having trouble judging how well I'm doing with the material. Mainly, I'm just worried that I'm not going about learning the material in the most efficient way, and I think I need a new strategy for succeeding in upper level physics courses.

In past physics courses I read before lecture and did all of the homework as soon as it was assigned. It was very straightforward what I was expected to know for the exams... Basically study the homework problems, problems covered in lecture, old exams, recitation problems and there would usually be no surprises on the exam.