Neutron Star vs Earth - Effects of a Collision

In summary: Yes, it's feasible, although I think it would be pretty cool if our planet ended up having a new orbit as a result.Thanks for the input everyone!
kindaroomy
Firstly, I would like to say hello to everyone as this is my first post.

I am an artist working a personal project that will be a visual investigation into the effects of a collision between a Neutron Star and Earth.

The star would have a fully collapsed core at 1.5 solar masses (maybe 15km diameter), with it’s poles not pointing towards earth… or if you think it would be more interesting, pointing towards earth.

I was hoping to get some feedback on the sequence of events that people think would transpire as the star approached our planet, events like: gravitational effects, radiation, tidal forces, weather effects, seas would boil, Earth would stop spinning, etc.

I have included an image I hastily put together as an initial talking point. If you would like to reply with what do believe to be accurate and/or inaccurate about the scene, that would be great. Or include any comments as you wish.

Thank you for your time,
CJ
[PLAIN]http://www.kindaroomy.com/blog2/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/Earth_vs_Neutron-Star.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Astronomy news on Phys.org
There would be a great deal of seismic activity, increasing to the point where the Earth began to be torn asunder. Those heated fragments would form an accretion disc, around the neutron star.

As to effects of radiation or magnetic fields, unless we were staring down the barrel of a pulsar, I think because of range gravity would do the damage first. By the time the magnetic field overwhelmed our puny field, we'd already be shredded like cheddar.