Need Help with Your Study Routine for University Chemistry?

• Thread starter Hanabijm
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Study
In summary, the speaker is a freshman in university taking an honors chemistry course. They are struggling with managing their study schedule and getting nervous during exams. They have tried reading ahead of lectures and studying most of the day, but are still looking for tips on how to improve their studying. They recommend reading the blog and books by Cal Newport, but did not find his book "So Good They Can't Ignore You" helpful.
Hanabijm
I am a freshman in university, and my major requires that I take a general chemistry course. I actually enjoyed chemistry in high school, so I actually am taking an honors chemistry course.

Long story short, I am sort of lost on how to divide up my studying. We have a book of past exams (2007-2012) to practice, online homework, and a book written by the professors at our university. I can usually get through the online homework and get full points, but when it comes to exams I am very nervous and usually have trouble if the problems differ from problems on the practice exams.

In lecture, I feel like I'm simply rushing to copy down examples and hints. It's a huge lecture, so there isn't much room to ask questions.

Does anyone have any tips for managing my study schedule? I feel like I'm constantly playing catch-up and just grinding through book examples without knowing what I'm doing.

Physics news on Phys.org
One thing i do which may or may not benifit you is i usually read the chapter before going to the lecture. That way i know what the professor is going to talk about.

As for a study schedual i just study most of the day because i enjoy it. Sorry i couldn't help you on that one lol

http://calnewport.com/blog/
read the blog buy the books solved your problem

My review: I liked
-how to win at college
-how to become a straight a student