Need Help With Large Electromagnet Design

In summary, the expert believes that a large electromagnet should have a diameter of around two feet, use an iron core of around 2" to 6" in diameter, and have a wire resistance of around 10 ohms. They recommend purchasing the electromagnet from someone that has experience building them.
jpbussen
Hello Everyone. I'm very new to this website and am turning to anyone for help.

I'm trying to design and build a large electromagnet to do some scrap metal lifting for me and my grandpa that can be hooked onto a crane/loader of a tractor/payloader. I'm currently studying electrical and mechanical engineering at a university in Kansas, but I'm only in my second year to have the knowledge to design one correctly. I grew up on a farm and ranch and have all the tools (lathe, drills, mill, MIG welder, TIG Welder, ARC welder, plasma cutter) and abilities I need to do the job correctly because I want to build one tough enough to handle the work.

I know how to build small simple electromagnets, but I'm not sure what I need to do with a larger scale version.

* My intentions are to build one that can hold around 1000lbs to, well roughly a car would be nice, so around 5000lbs.

* Would like to run it off a 12V DC car battery or if needed 24v by hooking two in a series. If making one that can run on 120v or 240v AC current is ideal, than ideas would be appreciated.

* I'm wanting the total diameter to be around the ballpark of 2 feet.

*Use an iron core of anywhere around 2" to 6" in diameter depending on what design is best to go with

What I don't know.

* What is possible

* The Best electromagnet design

* Size of resin wire to be using and wraps

* Do I need an insulator between the iron core and windings

* If I can hook hook it up directly to the battery using a switch/relay to control the on/off or if i need an amperage controller

Below is a drawing of what i assumed it would end up being designed to look like\

Untitled.png