Need help solving second-order nonlinear differential eq

In summary, a doctoral student in civil engineering has come across a differential equation representing the net force on an object as it impacts a granular medium at low velocities. They believe this equation can lead to an analytical method for determining soil shear strength parameters using inexpensive testing. However, their differential equation skills are rusty and they are struggling to solve the problem. They have attempted to simplify the equation and are seeking guidance on how to proceed. Suggestions include making a substitution and using variation of parameters.
WelshCorgiDude
Hello,

I'm a doctoral student in civil engineering. In my research I came across a differential equation for the net force acting on an object as it impacts a granular medium at low velocities.

z'' + a[ z' ]^2 + b[ z ] = c
Where a, b, and c are all constants

I believe that this equation will allow for the development of an analytical method for the determination of soil shear strength parameters in situ using rapid and inexpensive testing procedures. Unfortunately, my differential equation skills are horribly rusty, so this problem's solution has been rather ellusive. I've gotten as far as using the chain rule (?) to make the problem first-order, and developed the following:

If u = z' and u' = z'' (or u du/dz = z''), then u(du/dz) + a^2 +b[z] = c

I'm not sure where to go from here (or if I'm even going in the right direction). Textbook examples similar to this problem collapse nicely into an easily solvable problem, but not this one. I would really appreciate any guidance on this problem. Thanks in advance!

--Peter

Physics news on Phys.org
Sorry, I evidently turned underline on when making that second equation. Here is is again.

If u = z' and u'' = z'' (or u du/dz = z''), then u(du/dz) + a[ u ]^2 + b[ z ] = c

Your original DE is ##y'' + ay'^2 + by = c##. Consider the substitution ##w(y) = y'^2##. Then$$