Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Need help dividing land

getrichschemer

Oct 7, 2012
I hope this isn't the wrong forum to post this. Thanks in advance!

I purchased this property and hired someone to survey the property, but the markers they put out seem wrong. I'm not a math expert but maybe someone here can help me figure out where the markers are supposed to be. How many feet from right to left do I walk into the property from the road. I need to separate it in 3 equal parts. See the image for illustration.

Thank you!DIVIDED.jpg

tkhunny

MHB Math Helper
Jan 27, 2012
Why do you suspect the markers are wrong? Did you already pay the surveyor?

It appears to me there is not quite enough information.

1) One measurement is missing, but that might be okay if we could fix the other problem.
2) Some bearing would be nice. Which way is north? Are the horizontal(ish) lines parallel? What are the angles from the mostly horizontal lines to the more vertical lines?

Just measuring the sides of a polygon with more than three sides does not a complete determination make.

CaptainBlack

Jan 26, 2012

1) One measurement is missing, but that might be okay if we could fix the other problem.
2) Some bearing would be nice. Which way is north? Are the horizontal(ish) lines parallel? What are the angles from the mostly horizontal lines to the more vertical lines?

Just measuring the sides of a polygon with more than three sides does not a complete determination make.

We are also given the area (but it still looks like harder work than it need be).

If that is a scale diagram I would recomend squaring it up and counting squares ... (It won't give the answer to 5 significant digits or even 2 decimal places in feet, but then I doubt that the dimensions are really that accurate anyway)

CB

Last edited:

getrichschemer

Oct 7, 2012

Ive attached the original image.
plattmod.jpg

tkhunny

MHB Math Helper
Jan 27, 2012