Need Career Help? | Advice for High School Students

• Thread starter levisisme
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Career
In summary, a degree is the piece of paper at the end of your coursework that says you've completed all the work you were supposed to. Credits are unit hours for work completed over a semester, and at the end of the semester you get those credits for completing the work. Credits and degrees: Liberal arts degrees at my school are 120 credits. The liberal arts core (general education requirements) is about 40 credits, and most majors only require 30 degrees of major specific classes, so their are 120-40-30 = 50 credits left of coursework that a student needs to take to get the degree. Those credits are called free electives.Undergraduate - undergraduate, any degree program that leads to a bachelors degree
levisisme
salutations, i am a student in the first semester of grade ten, i plan to take physics, chemistry, and electronics, and of course general science. I was wondering if someone could explain to me how the whole degree, credits, undergrad and college and university things work. I would like to become a scientist or an electronics technician. Maybe you guys can help me. Thanks Levi

Physics news on Phys.org
levisisme said:
I was wondering if someone could explain to me how the whole degree, credits, undergrad and college and university things work.
You don't have anyone at your school (like a college advisor?) who could sort this out for you? wiki offers pretty thorough discussions on all of these, but basically:

degree - the piece of paper at the end of your coursework that says you've completed all the work you were supposed to (the same as a high school degree)

credits - unit hours for work completed over a semester. Basically, every course you take has a certain number of credits assigned to it, and at the end of the semester you get those credits for completing the work.

Credits and degrees: