Need a more powerful calculator (beyond ti-89T, hp50g)

• Calculators
  • Thread starter Bense
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Calculator
In summary, an engineering student is looking for a small device to use for calculations without internet distractions. They have considered an embedded intel atom device running linux, but are also interested in the program spacetime which can run on an iPhone, iPod-touch, or iPad. They are also open to suggestions from others.
Bense
Hi, I am an engineering student that loves writing programs for my ti calculators.

I am currently using a texas instruments voyage 200, I love the screen and the qwerty keyboard. But I KEEP running into limitations with these things. I am approaching the point where calculations are migrating from handheld calculators to computers running MATLAB or maple.

However, I do not want a fully functional laptop or netbook. I want something relatively small that I can punch numbers in quickly without having too many internet distractions. I have been thinking about some embedded intel atom device running linux + maple + matlab. But I realize that these things are pretty new.

I was thinking about something the size of this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834251004

Is there anybody out there that has any suggestions??

Computer science news on Phys.org
You could consider the program spacetime running on an iPhone, iPod-touch or ipad.

Spacetime offers a one month free demo that runs on windows or mac/os. You can try it and see if it meets your needs.

I use it and prefer it to my hp49g, but the symbolics is not quite as good as you'll get on a typical computer.

Related to Need a more powerful calculator (beyond ti-89T, hp50g)

1. What features should I look for in a more powerful calculator?